Nashville, TN (9-22-08) -- Gaither Homecoming artists Ernie Haase and Signature Sound and Gordon Mote joined a stellar cast of artists in the first Academy of Country Music Honors concert held at the Musicians Hall of Fame in Nashville Wednesday, September 17th. Signature Sound participated in honoring the Oak Ridge Boys and Gordon performed in the tribute to the late Porter Wagoner, both of whom won the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award. Other artists appearing included LeAnn Rimes, Amy Grant, Joe Nichols and Connie Smith.

Ernie Haase & Signature Sound have formed a special friendship with the Oak Ridge Boys over the years, and they amazed the capacity crowd of music industry VIPs by sounding exactly like the Oaks as they wowed with a medley of "Jesus Is Coming Soon," "Y'All Come Back Saloon" and "Elvira."

Gaither Homecoming audiences are familiar with Gordon Mote's spot-on imitation of the late Porter Wagoner, and he relayed stories, cracked jokes and sang songs in Porter Wagoner's voice, including his trademark hisses. His songs included "Satisfied Mind," "Carroll County Accident" and "Green, Green Grass of Home."

"The Oak Ridge Boys have greatly influenced Ernie Haase and Signature Sound," Ernie pointed out. "What a privilege it was to pay our respects by singing their songs in front their peers. Their influence has extended to both country and gospel music fans alike...... including EHSS—their biggest fans! They are truly deserving of this honor."

Gordon was equally thrilled to perform in a tribute to the late Country Music Hall of Fame member: "It was an honor to work with a legend like Porter Wagoner and to be his friend. It was especially great when he told me that I had been instrumental in his decision to accept Christ. What an unforgettable experience to be asked to tell some "Porter stories" and to sing his music at this event."

Among those on hand to accept their trophies during the ACM Honors ceremony were the Oak Ridge Boys, Brenda Lee, and Bill Anderson, as well as winners of the Musician of the Year awards. The evening also served to honor Dick Clark, the late Conway Twitty and publishing pioneer Fred Rose.

This is the first time these prizes have been awarded separately from the nationally televised ACM Awards in May. Unlike the high-profile performer awards the Los Angeles-based ACM presents on its network television special each May, the special honors are not annually conferred and are voted on by the Academy's board of directors, rather than the organization's general membership.