

Nominations for the 2013 Annual NQC Music Awards were announced today by Clarke Beasley, Executive Vice President, National Quartet Convention, and reflect a mix of the best and brightest in Gospel music over the past year.

Based on both fan popularity and professional excellence, the awards will be presented in two categories: Fan Awards and Industry Awards. The Fan Award categories will be voted on by members of the NQC email list and the Industry Awards will be voted on by music professionals that participate as exhibitors during the National Quartet Convention.

The awards will be presented on Friday, September 13, 2013, at the 53rd Annual National Quartet Convention (NQC) in Louisville, KY during a special afternoon session in Freedom Hall.

"We are excited to once again present the NQC Music Awards during the National Quartet Convention!" states Clarke Beasley. "This event was a highlight of the convention last year and we are thrilled to once again host this ceremony."

NQC has partnered with the Southern Gospel Music Guild (SGMG) to supervise and determine the category criteria and screened entries for eligibility. The professional membership of the SGMG will also determine the recipient of the Les Beasley Impact Award, given to an individual or company that has made a major impact in the field of Gospel Music.

Voting for the Fan Award categories will begin on July 25 through ballots emailed to voters. For more information, visit www.NQConline.com.

Get social with NQC at Facebook.com/NQConline and Twitter @NQConline. Use the hashtag #NQCMusicAwards to join the conversation.

A complete listing of the Final Nominations for the 2013 NQC Music Awards is below.

To obtain a complete schedule of events scheduled during the 2013 National Quartet Convention, visit www.ngconline.com.

ABOUT THE NATIONAL QUARTET CONVENTION:

2013 marks the 56th Annual National Quartet Convention. The Convention has made its home in the city of Louisville since 1994 but will move to a new facility in Pigeon Forge, TN in 2014. Over 40,000 people are expected to attend the 2013 event with at least 40 states and half-dozen foreign countries represented. The Convention is Christian music's largest marketplace and largest annual event with more than 500 exhibitors and nearly 300 Southern Gospel recording artists in attendance. Seats for daily and evening performances may be purchased at the NQC office, online at www.nqconline.com or on site during the week of the Convention in the North Wing lobby at the Kentucky Expo Center.

ABOUT THE SOUTHERN GOSPEL MUSIC GUILD:

In 1986, several Southern Gospel music leaders decided the industry needed an organization to foster the growth of the Southern Gospel music genre. Through the years, the Guild has grown to include every facet of the Southern Gospel music industry, encompassing artists (full-time and part-time), record companies, radio, promoters, publishers, distributors, talent management, media representatives, and booking agents. These professionals work together collectively to expand the economic base of the Southern Gospel Music industry.

2013 NQC MUSIC AWARDS FINAL NOMATIONS:

» FAN CATEGORIES

Bass Singer of the Year Nominees:
Pat Barker - Mark Trammell Quartet
Eric Bennett - Triumphant Quartet
Jeff Chapman - Kingdom Heirs
Tim Duncan - Canton Junction
Tracy Stuffle - Perrys

Baritone Singer of the Year Nominees:
Jim Brady - Booth Brothers
Rodney Griffin - Greater Vision
Scott Inman - Triumphant Quartet
Mark Lowry - Gaither Vocal Band
Mark Trammell - Mark Trammell Quartet

Lead Singer of the Year Nominees:
Ronnie Booth - Booth Brothers
Michael English - Gaither Vocal Band
Scott Fowler - Legacy Five
Arthur Rice - Kingdom Heirs
Gerald Wolfe - Greater Vision

Tenor Singer of the Year Nominees: Chris Allman - Greater Vision Michael Booth - Booth Brothers Brian Free - Brian Free & Assurance Wes Hampton - Gaither Vocal Band David Phelps - Gaither Vocal Band David Sutton - Triumphant Quartet

Soprano Singer of the Year Nominees: Brooklyn Collingsworth - Collingsworth Family Kim Hopper - Hoppers Sonya Isaacs Yeary - Isaacs Karen Peck Gooch - Karen Peck & New River Lauren Talley Alvey - Talleys

Alto Singer of the Year Nominees: Courtney Collingsworth - Collingsworth Family Kim Collingsworth - Collingsworth Family Sheri Easter - Jeff & Sheri Easter Connie Hopper - Hoppers Libbi Stuffle - Perrys

Soloist of the Year Award Nominees: Mark Bishop Jason Crabb TaRanda Greene Ivan Parker Guy Penrod

Male Group of the Year Nominees: Booth Brothers Gaither Vocal Band Greater Vision Kingdom Heirs Triumphant Quartet

Mixed Group of the Year Nominees: Collingsworth Family Hoppers Isaacs Karen Peck & New River Perrys

Musician of the Year Nominees: Kim Collingsworth - Collingsworth Family Gordon Mote Jeff Stice - Triumphant Quartet Kevin Williams - Gaither Vocal Band Gerald Wolfe - Greater Vision

Album of the Year Nominees:
A Tribute to the Songs of Bill & Gloria Gaither - Booth Brothers
For All He's Done - Greater Vision
Greatest Hits Live - Booth Brothers
Redeeming the Time - Kingdom Heirs
Through the Night - Perrys

Video of the Year:

Classic - David Phelps

I Want to be That Man - Brian Free & Assurance

I Wish We'd All Been Ready - Hoppers

Lari Goss-The Man Behind the Music - Multiple Artists

Pure and Simple - Gaither Vocal Band

Song of the Year Nominees:

Glorious Freedom - Gaither Vocal Band

He Didn't Just Carry the Cross, He Carried Me - Hoppers

He Didn't When He Could Have Passed By - Greater Vision

I Got a Hold of God This Morning - Perrys

I Played in the Band and Sang in the Choir - Booth Brothers

I Want to be That Man - Brian Free & Assurance

I'm Still Amazed - Legacy Five

Just Beyond the Sunset - Kingdom Heirs

Take it from Me Meshach - Triumphant Quartet

Unspoken Request - McKameys

» INDUSTRY CATEGORIES

Producer/Arranger of the Year:

Jeff Collins

Ben Isaacs

Donna King

Rick Sandidge

Roger Talley

Promoter of the Year:

Frank Arnold

Bill Bailey

Landon Beene

Bob Brumley

Ray Flynn

Bill Gaither

Robert York

Radio Station of the Year

WXRI Winston-Salem, NC

WGUS Augusta, GA

KWFC Springfield, MO

WBTX Broadway, VA

WWWC Wilksboro, NC

Songwriter of the Year Award:

The SGMG Awards and Criteria Committee will pull the Singing News radio charts for the

eligibility time period and will assign each songwriter fifteen points for a number one song, ten points for a song in the top ten and five points for a song in the top 20. The total points for the eligibility period will be tabulated for each writer and the writer with the most points will be awarded Songwriter of the Year.